Home » Internet

Facebook Taking Action Against FBAction.net

30 April 2009

A Facebook phishing attack by FBaction.net is happening . Facebook says they are taking all necessary action of the Fbaction.net phishing attack:

We are aware of this phishing domain and have already begun to take action. Specifically, we have passed the domain on to Markmonitor who pushes the domain to the browsers for blacklisting. They will also actively try to disable the site at the server/domain level for people who don’t have updated browsers.

Our user operations team has blocked the domain from being shared on Facebook and is removing the content retroactively from any messages. They will also be resetting passwords of senders to remove access from an attacker. We’re also reaching out to the ISPs to get information and will attempt to build a civil and/or criminal case against the owners.

Here’s a sample of the message that FBAction sends to facebook users:

YOURFRIEND sent
you a message.
Subject: Hello
“Visit http://www.facebook.com/l/4253f;http://fbaction.net/”

If you enter your details in the link, it will spam all your friends with the same message and link.

4 Comments »

  • Felix K@Computers Cases said:

    Thanks for your informative concept

  • kara@frisco tx homes for sale said:

    I would hope they would go after these people. I have private information that I don’t want sold to another company. I can’t believe the nerve of some of these phishing companies.

  • Kai Lo@Best SEO Blog said:

    That is a shame that people out there would do something like that. I feel bad for naive people to give out information about their account.

  • Bill@crankshaft said:

    These phishing attacks are happening all over. I get at least three of these per week for banks, paypal, and other stuff. Arrest the people behind these things and it will stop if they face long prison sentences!

Leave your response!

You can subscribe to these comments via RSS.